Skip to main content

LWV Of Tennessee

Community Leaders

Debby Gould, President
Leslie Collum, Vice President
Mary Ann Reeves, Vice President

League ID



(629) 777-5677

Stories from Around the State

This story originally aired on News 5 WCYB.

As the 2024 presidential election draws near, political polarization is top of mind. The local chapter of the League of Women Voters is launching a series aimed at combatting political polarization.

From January – August 2023, state legislatures nationwide passed various bills into law. While following these developments, the League noticed several important trends around voting rights and election administration.

This article was originally published in Business Insider.

A group of civil rights and voting rights organizations last Wednesday filed a lawsuit against Tennessee Republican Gov. Bill Lee and several top election officials over the state's congressional and state Senate maps, arguing that the boundaries are unconstitutional and violate the rights of minority voters.

LWV of Tennessee and partners filed a federal lawsuit challenging portions of Tennessee’s congressional and state senate redistricting plans that went into effect in early 2022 as intentionally discriminatory against Black voters and other voters of color.


LWV's legislative & policy coordinator shares her experience as a voting rights advocate in Tennessee.

The League of Women of Voters of Tennessee issued the following statement after the Tennessee State Legislature voted to expel two general assembly members.