Skip to main content

LWV Supports Bipartisan DREAM Act of 2021

Press Release / Last Updated:

WASHINGTON – Thursday evening, U.S. Senators Durbin and Graham introduced the latest immigration reform bill. The companion legislation led by Representatives Lofgren and Roybal-Allard was previously introduced in the U.S. House. League of Women Voters CEO Virginia Kase released the following statement in support of the bipartisan immigration reform bill:       

“Over the past four years, the Trump administration took steps to end Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and strip status from those with Temporary Protected Status (TPS) and Deferred Enforced Departure (DED). Individuals benefiting from these programs live in every state, territory, and congressional district. They are our neighbors, League members, teachers, healthcare workers, and employers — Americans in every way except their legal status. They have earned a path to citizenship. 

“For decades, the League of Women Voters has supported a fair and equitable immigration system and a path to citizenship. Since the 111th Congress, the League has lobbied in support of the DREAM Act, including opposing its recission in the 115th Congress. The DREAM Act of 2021 would hold American families, communities, and economies together. 

“There are many parts of the immigration system that urgently need fixing, but protecting DREAMers and beneficiaries of TPS and DED cannot wait. It is long past time to recognize that these individuals are part of the American family and merit protection from deportation, permanent status, and a path to eventual citizenship. Immigrant families and communities at long last deserve the peace of mind to build a better life, which so many of us born in this country take for granted.  

“The League of Women Voters strongly endorses this common-sense bipartisan legislation, and we stand ready to work with lawmakers to see it become law.” 


CONTACT: Sarah Courtney | 202-263-1332 | [email protected]

Donate to support our work

to empower voters and defend democracy.