Skip to main content

Women Win in Historic Primaries

Press Release / Last Updated:

League Celebrates Female Candidates’ Success in 2018 Primaries

Washington, DC – The 2018 primary season continues to break records for female candidates and the League of Women Voters is proud to celebrate this historic election cycle.

“Up and down the ballot, in red states and blue, we are seeing more women running for office than ever before,” said Chris Carson, president of the League of Women Voters. “Tuesday night was another step forward in getting more women into elected office this November.”

Eight states held primary elections Tuesday in which female candidates of both parties ran and won for governor, house, senate and local legislature seats. More women than ever are advancing to the general election this year.

“The number of women in elected offices does not reflect the demographic makeup of women in our communities,” Carson said. “Women make up half of our population but only hold 20% of seats in Congress. 2018 could be the year we start to turn the tide, and move toward a government that looks more like the people it represents.”

The League of Women Voters believes in the power of women to create a more perfect democracy and we encourage more women to run for office at all levels of government.

The League is proud to be nonpartisan, neither supporting nor opposing candidates or political parties at any level of government, but always working on vital issues of concern to the public. The League was founded in 1920, just six months before the 19thAmendment was ratified, giving women the right to vote.

“As we approach our hundredth anniversary, we are encouraged by the number of women running for elected office,” Carson said. “The League works to ensure every person has an equal opportunity at the ballot box and the League congratulates all of the female candidates running for office this cycle.”

Contact: Sarah Courtney | 202-263-1332 | [email protected]

Donate to support our work

to empower voters and defend democracy.